GALLERY: MPs sworn in at Parliament’s first convening since elections

2019-05-22 22:41

The 400 members from the 14 political parties that received enough votes in the May general election took their oaths to serve in the sixth democratic Parliament on Wednesday.

Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng presided over the swearing-in ceremony, at which the House of Parliament formally constitutes itself.

Of the designated MPs who took their oaths, members of the EFF were the talk of the day.

As promised by EFF leader Julius Malema last week, party members took up their oath with the vosho dance.

“Sizongena nge vosho ePhalamende! (We will enter Parliament with the vosho),” were Malema’s exact words.

The EFF increased its seats in Parliament from 25 in the fifth Parliament to 44 seats in the sixth.

Other notable events were the announcement that ANC deputy president David Mabuza had postponed taking up his position as deputy president of the country, and outgoing Environmental Affairs Minister Nomvula Mokonyane, Malusi Gigaba and former Speaker Baleka Mbete withdrawing as ANC MPs.

Mogoeng presided over the election of the new Speaker of the House following the swearing-in of MPs with Thandi Modise beating the DA’s Thembekile Majola for the position.

Diplomats, guests of the presidency and guests of leaders of political parties represented were among the dignitaries in attendance.

The president-elect will be inaugurated on May 25 in Pretoria.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

November 10 2019