Mildred Oliphant is the latest former minister to fall by the wayside

2019-06-13 11:01

Former minister of labour Mildred Oliphant has joined the growing list of former ministers who have cut their losses and resigned from the National Assembly.

Oliphant’s resignation, which has been confirmed by the office of the ANC’s chief whip Pemmy Majodina, brings the number of MPs who have resigned from President Cyril Ramaphosa’s sixth administration to nine.

“The office of the ANC chief whip confirms having received the resignation letter of ... Oliphant, as an ANC member of Parliament,” read the tweet sent out by the ANC’s official parliamentary account.

Oliphant was one of 14 former ministers from the fifth administration who did not make it to the sixth Cabinet while other ANC members Nomvula Mokonyane and Malusi Gigaba, whose names appeared on the list for those earmarked for the National Assembly, declined the offer to be ordinary parliamentarians before being sworn in.

READ: MPs' exodus continues as Hanekom also calls if quits

Her resignation comes after that other former ministers Bathabile Dlamini, Derek Hanekom, Jeff Radebe, Siyabonga Cwele, Susan Shabangu, Tokozile Xasa, Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba and Nomaindia Mfeketo who all resigned after being overlooked for Cabinet positions.

It is understood that some of these senior party members resigned to secure lucrative ministerial pensions. Had they not resigned they would be have been backbenchers in the National Assembly and risked losing out on the perks awarded to former ministers.

Like Radebe, before her, Oliphant is one of the longest serving members of Parliament having served since 1994.

She was appointed labour minister in 2010 but has been replaced by Thulas Nxesi who was moved from the department of public works.

Juniour Khumalo
City Press
p:+27 (0) 11 713 9001  e:
Sign up for City Press' morning newsletter On a Point of Order here

Next on City Press

Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

January 19 2020