Tshwane administrators’ plan to address Covid-19 challenges

2020-03-26 14:12

It has been a baptism of fire for the newly appointed City of Tshwane administration team as the 11-member group has had to hit the ground running to put in place measures to reduce the spread of the Covid-19 coronavirus, as well as to administer stimulus measures for residents leading up to the nationwide lockdown set to commence on Thursday.

Holding their first media briefing on Thursday morning, following their appointment by Gauteng MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Lebogang Maile on Tuesday, administrator Mpho Nawa and acting city manager Mavela Dlamini outlined the measures that had been instituted by the team.

Among other concessions were that residents who fail to pay for services such as electricity and water will not result in them being cut off as has previously been the case.

sanitation and waste removal will continue with minimal interruption

“We are mindful that citizens will not be able to pay for services during this period and that is the reason the City of Tshwane will not cut electricity or water supply because you are owing,” said Dlamini.

Other guarantees that have been issued by the team include a pledge by Nawa that “sanitation and waste removal will continue with minimal interruption”.

Nawa also assured Tshwane residents that emergency personnel would be fully operational during the 21-day lockdown.

He, however, implored Tshwane residents “to use services in a manner that minimises pressure on the city’s already stretched resources”.

While essential services will remain mostly uninterrupted, Nawa said the following services would be affected by the lockdown – licensing centres, museum services, swimming pools and libraries, nature reserves, parks and resorts.

Dlamini reiterated that funerals should not have more than 50 people in attendance to curb the spread of the pandemic during lockdown.

Maile appointed the team of administrators to run the city ahead of the by-election scheduled to take place in the next three months.

The appointment of the team came after the national council of provinces last week endorsed Gauteng Premier David Makhura’s decision to place Tshwane under administration as per section 139(1)(c) of the Constitution.

The decision was endorsed after the Tshwane council failed to elect a new mayor and to approve the adjustment budget last month, following the resignation of Stevens Mokgalapa.

The administration team also includes Gilberto Martins, Lefadi Makibinyane, Riada Kruger, Lebogang Mahaye, Lesedi Mere, Thulisile Njapa-Mashanda, Masabatha Mutlaneng and Shiva Makoto.

Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

March 29 2020