‘Wonderful work’ earns interim SABC board a spot on interview shortlist

2017-08-23 00:19

The wonderful work of the five interim SABC board members has earned them a spot in the final 36 who will be interviewed by Parliament next week.

All the parties represented in the National Assembly’s portfolio committee on communications unanimously agreed that the five members – Khanyisile Kweyama, Mathatha Tsedu, Febe Potgieter-Gqubule, John Matisonn and Krish Naidoo be considered for permanent appointment into the new SABC board.

Their six-month term ends on September 26.

“I want to propose that the five names of the interim board be accepted as the first five names to be shortlisted. We all know them and we are working with them,” proposed ANC MP Lerumo Kalako.

He was supported by committee chairperson Humphrey Maxegwana, who added: “In this very committee we have been saying this five-member interim board has over these few months have done a wonderful job and therefore … we agree with the five names to be in the shortlist”.

The committee agreed.

Jack Devnarain, who is an actor in the popular soapie Isidingo, an Icasa councillor Nomvuyiso Batyi and two former SABC board members, Rachel Kalidass and Desmond Golding, also made the 36-person shortlist.

Unlike in previous years, where MPs were hostile towards each other in processing names for the SABC board with clear political indications especially from the governing party, this time around the ANC MPs were more amenable to a negotiated and open process.

A number of well-known people who are associated with the party didn’t make the shortlist. These include former head of the SABC news Snuki Zikalala and former deputy president of the ANC youth league, Ronald Lamola.

MPs spent just more than five hours whittling down the applications from 363 to the 36 who will be interviewed over three days next week.

There was laughter in the room when Kalako, on behalf of the ANC, proposed Zikalala’s name in the first round of shortlisting. But the highly qualified Zikalala – with a PhD in journalism – did not make the final cut. Neither did Yakhe Kwinana, a chartered accountant who until August last year was a board member at South African Airways.

The shortlisted names will be published on the Parliament website for five working days to allow the public to comment. The interviews will be held for three days starting next Wednesday.

Shortlisted names:

Mathatha Tsedu, Krish Naidoo, Khanyisile Kweyama, Febe Potgieter-Gqubule, John Matisonn, Nomvuyiso Batyi, Rachel Kalidass, Thabiso Ramotso, Kharidza Rufus, Michael Markovitz, Willie Currie, Sandile Kama, Deenadaylen Konar, Harriet Meier, Dawn Earp, Michael Bauer, Judge Chris Greenland, Desmond Golding, Manaka Mathumo, Victor Rambau, Tshifhiwa Khoromba, Mcebo Khumalo, Seipati Khumalo, Thidzimba Nethengwe, Cikizwa Dingi, Louise Vale, Yaasir Haffajee, Kwanele Gumbi, Jack Devnarain, Bongumusa Makhathini, Nkosana Mbokane, Michael Sass, Jim Matsho, Jack Phahlane, Dinkwanyane Mohuba and Leanne Govindsamy.

*City Press’ coverage of the SABC board interviews was done in partnership with SOS coalition, a civil society coalition committed to, and campaigning for, public broadcasting that is in the public interest. Visit the SOS coalition for more.

Andisiwe Makinana
Parliamentary journalist
City Press
p:+27 11 713 9001  e:
Sign up for City Press' morning newsletter On a Point of Order here

Read more on:


Next on City Press

Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

March 18 2018