Phosa’s branch nominates Motlanthe

2012-11-12 14:49
Sizwe sama Yende
ANC treasurer-general Mathews Phosa’s branch in Mpumalanga has finally sat for its general meeting to nominate preferred leaders for the party’s conference in Mangaung.

The Ward 30 branch in White River has accused the ANC Ehlanzeni regional executive committee of sabotaging its meetings because of its stance that it would not support President Jacob Zuma for a second term.

When it held a fundraising dinner over a month ago, Ehlanzeni secretary Pat Ngomana hastily organised a regional general council allegedly to derail the event, which Phosa attended.

The branch’s executive members were also threatened with disciplinary action, but there were no grounds to charge them. The region threatened to disband the branch but it did not.

Phosa is a former Mpumalanga premier and provincial ANC chairperson.

A branch member, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said: “It was the fourth time yesterday that we’ve been trying to convene the branch general meeting. The region was even using one branch executive member to sabotage us.

In one incident she tore an attendance register and yesterday she even tried to mess up the nomination list so that it wouldn’t stand ... we noticed and rectified it.”

The branch member added that the region was also not pleased with the branch because it did not support Premier David Mabuza’s re-election as Mpumalanga ANC chairperson in April.

The branch has nominated: Kgalema Motlanthe (president), Mathews Phosa (deputy president), Fikile Mbalula (secretary-general), Thandi Modise (deputy secretary-general), Thenjiwe Mtintso (chairperson) and Tokyo Sexwale (treasurer-general).

Ngomana said the branch’s general meeting was valid.

“We’re not sabotaging them, and they know that they’ve not been able to sit because they were not quorating,” Ngomana said.

Ward 30’s list goes against the provincial executive committee’s (PEC) preferred leadership announced last month, which intends to retain Zuma as ANC president.

The PEC’s preferred leaders are: Zuma (president), Cyril Ramaphosa (deputy president), Baleka Mbete (chairperson), Gwede Mantashe (secretary-general), Jesse Duarte (deputy secretary-general) and Zweli Mkhize (treasurer-general).

It has the support of the women’s league and the tripartite alliance in the province.

The provincial ANC Youth League supports a change in leadership.