Ellis, Mane big winners at CAF awards

2020-01-08 10:04

Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis was crowned CAF's women's coach of the year for the second time at the 2019 awards ceremony held at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh Resort in Hurghada, Egypt, on Tuesday night.

Ellis won the trophy last year for the sterling work she did in guiding the team to their maiden Fifa Women's World Cup after their second place at Afcon 2018, while Banyana also defended their Cosafa Cup title.

At the same awards in Hurghada, Sadio Mane and Asisat Oshoala were crowned as African player of the year and African women’s player of the year.

The 28th edition of the CAF Awards celebrated African footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during 2019.

Mane was crowned the African player of the year, polling 477 votes ahead of his Liverpool teammate Mohamd Salah, 325 votes and Algeria's Riyad Mahrez, 267 votes.

Mane, collected the prize from CAF President Ahmad Ahmad and said: “I'm very happy and proud to win this award. I thank my teammates at the Senegal national team and also my club, Liverpool for their support".

For the women’s category, Oshoala was named African women’s player of the year for the fourth time, equalling the record of her compatriot Perpetua Nkwocha. She garnered 351 votes, 30 more than Cameroonian forward Ajara Nchout and Banyana's Thembi Kgatlana, who had 247 votes.

The youth player of the year award went to Moroccan Achraf Hakimi, while Djamel Belmadi picked the male coach of the year gong.

Award Winners

African Player of the Year - Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Women’s Player of the Year - Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

African Interclubs Player of the Year - Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year - Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

African Men’s Coach of the Year - Djamel Belmadi (Algeria - Algeria)

African Women’s Coach of the Year - Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

African Men’s National Team of the Year - Algeria

African Women’s National Team of the Year - Cameroon

Federation of the Year - Egyptian Football Association

Special Award - Kojovi Obilale (former Togolese goalkeeper)

CAF-Fifpro Best XI

Goalkeeper: Andre Onana

Defenders: Achraf Hakimi, Serge Aurier, Joel Matip, Kalidou Koulibaly

Midfielders: Idrissa Gueye, Riyad Mahrez, Hakim Ziyech

Forwards: Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining

January 26 2020